Product suggestions for high porosity, medium texture hair?

MoiraIndigoMoiraIndigo Posts: 21Registered Users
Hi,

I'm new to curly care and hoping somebody can help me pick out some products. I'm looking for a protein treatment, a moisturizing conditioner, and trickiest of all, styling products. I am utterly lost on styling products.

Protein treatment: I'm looking at the GVP Hair Reconstructor and Nexxus Emergencee Reconstructor. (I think these are protein treatments?) Are either of these good? Would you suggest something different?

Conditioner: I was thinking of going with Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition, but I read that salon quality counts here. Any recommendations?

Styling Products: All I know is that I need to stay far, far away from humectants (and the usual bad guys: silicones, salts, petrochemicals and short chain alcohols). I'm not sure if I should be using just a gel, or something else before/after. Really, I'm very confused about what to use, period. The goal is wash, apply product, and go, with a boost to the wavy.

As far as my hair elasticity goes, I'm not sure I've got that right. My hair is pretty short and hard to wrap around my fingers to keep a grip on when I'm stretching. It has both broken and stretched out but not back, keeping a nasty kink instead, in several tests.

Many thanks!
2aM/Fii
Medium texture with some fine mixed in, high porosity, lowish elasticity, normal thickness, comfy dewpoints, short hair, weak wave pattern.
Brand new to Naturally Curly

Comments

• pedahehpedaheh Posts: 4,812Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    If your dew points are comfortable, then humectants are your friend right now. In dews between 20-70 or 30-70, depending on which expert you ask, humectants are awesome. The draw moisture to the hair. You want this. It moisturized the hair.