Hello

no1curlydivano1curlydiva Posts: 60Registered Users Curl Neophyte
Newbie here! I have been lurking for about a month and have learned so much! Thanks everyone.

Anyway, my natural hair journey began quite by accident. I love wearing wigs, half pieces, weaves, ponytails, etc. I thought it was a waste to get a perm with all of that going on. It wasn't until I noticed that the portion of my hair that still had perm, was balling up real bad, when I would take my hair down to wash it. And my un-permed hair was a hot thick tangled mess, could not get a comb thru it. What I would have to do is wash, blow dry and then flat iron it the morning I was going to the beauty shop and have them cornrow my hair to wear under my wigs, etc. If I did not do this, there would be no way they would be able to get their hands thru it. One day it was so tangled and balled up, I was frustrated and just took the scissors to it. Whew, such relief I hadn't known in awhile. So that is why I say my journey was an accident. I haven't permed my hair since January 2009, and it is about 6 inches long. But I am loving it.

I still wear the wigs, half pieces, ponytails and will for a while. I used to wear my hair cornrowed under my pieces so that when I get home from work, I would just take it off, let my head breathe and no hassle when I go to the gym. My routine now is that I wash my hair on Sundays, braid it up in plaits, wear my pieces to work Mon - Thurs, and rock my natural hair Fridays - Sunday. This affords me the luxury of finding out what works for me and I am not ready to rock a fro to work (I like BIG Texas hair)

With that being said, I can't believe how I have grown into this HUGE product junkie. I mean I already had this gigantic basket of stuff I was using like most women, but now.....I think I use more stuff now that I am "natural" then I ever did permed. LOL