Advice for loose curls?

IAgirlIAgirl Posts: 2,540Registered Users Curl Neophyte
I am new to the whole CG routine and have never done much with my hair at all. It's not liking gel very well! It makes me a stringy, crunchy mess. Seems to do as well or better with some sort of leave-in than something crunch-ifying, but getting products that are curl-friendly and don't smell (or cost) too much is tricky! Yep, I'm inexperienced when it comes to hair.
I have waves and spirals in fine, blonde hair (tends to be a little flat) with the potential for 3a-ish curls, except they're only as big around as my finger. I really want them to be bouncier and more defined - more "clumpy" as you all say here!
Do I have "product issues?" Do I just have to accept lazy curls?
I tried plopping (maybe not long enough) and that may help some.
Reassurance? Advice? Stuff to avoid for fine hair? Or is this exactly what to expect when you get started?

Comments

• JenjenjenJenjenjen Posts: 5Registered Users
    What products are you using? With just about any of the no-cone gels I use, after I'm dry, I have to scrunch to get the crunchy out, but then my curls are great. I guess I need more info on your method/products/etc. to help! :)
  • kathymackkathymack Posts: 9,999Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    My hair doesn't care for gel, either. I use a leave in/curl enhancer and jelly type products. More layers in the winter and less in the summer. Plus, I do a protein treatment at least once a week.

As a result of being on this website, I went from winter wavy/summer 3a lazy curls to hair like my signature picture every day. It's a process of balancing the moisture and protein, finding out what your hair likes and technique.

Good luck!
    3a (Corkicelli), highlighted, fine, low porosity
    SE PA

HGs: Anything Sevi; Curly Kinks Satin Roots, Curlycue ReNew and Coil Jam; homemade FSG and okra gel; soap bars; UFD Curly Magic; Botanical Spirits Jellies, CJ Repair Me, Aloe Fix
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]