Im New Here! Some Questions about No Poo

AGirlWithACurlAGirlWithACurl Posts: 44Registered Users
Hi everyone!, so as you know i am new here so im not really an expert on the curly girl method. I decided to go with the method as my hair is starting to look really bad, my curls are not even curls anymore. im going to get a new haircut so i thought i should give the no poo method a try but a bit hesistant about not shampooing my hair. Im from london and their is an organic store and it sells sulfate free shampoos. If i start using that will that be following the cg method or do i strictly have to not use shampoo at all....Organic and herbal shampoos - is that okay for curly hair? Thanks:tongue:
Mixture of 2's And 3a
Medium to Coarse

Low Porosity
Low elasicity
Started CG 5/08/10
Co Wash : OS TT&M
Co :GFR&S
Style : Boots Pink/Garnier Survivor gel/UG gel/Tigi Curl Amplifer (experimenting)

Comments

• beautifulRainbeautifulRain Posts: 189Registered Users
    Hi! I am relatively new around here myself, and as such I've been reading a lot about the Curly Girl/No Poo method (haven't started yet). From what I understand, unless you don't use any styling product (and I'm sure very few curlies can get away with that) you have to look at the ingredients in your other products - silicones to be specific.

I tried ditching shampoo a while ago and didn't think it was helping. Then I read that non-water-soluble silicones found in many hair products can build up on your hair if you don't use a "regular" sulfate shampoo. So I think that is why I wasn't seeing any improvement in my hair - I was still using stylers loaded with silicones which weren't getting washed out and were building up on my hair. I have read that some curlies can tolerate silicones while on a no-poo regimen. A lot of people here say you really just have to experiment and see what works for you and your hair.