2a specific beginner help

hdashnauhdashnau Posts: 2Registered Users
Hey All, Thank you in advance for any help you can provide! This site has been amazing thus far. Im a beginner and have decided to embrace my curls. I'm a newb at being a girl and taking care of my hair in general so its in bad shape (I will cut off the dead ends soon).

I am looking for step by step instructions from people who already have 2a hair for how to make 2a hair more clumpy. I've been looking around and found all sorts of different advice but Im not sure whats best for 2as. I really like the look of dry clumpy beachy waves and really dislike the look of wet looking crunchy thin S spirals. How would my daily or weekly or monthly routine go to get there, what products, how much, what techniques and in what order? Ive read so much about protein and deep condition and CG and no poo and gel and mouse and everything else that Im even more confused than when I started about what should be used and when. So the more specifics about your own working 2a routine the better!

My 2a hair now is probably considered thin, fine and porous. Without any product, it can vary from a flat wave if i just jump out of the shower and airdry to some pretty nice waves/curls if I let it go without washing or combing it for days and the weather is hot.

I am attaching a few pics of how much my hair can vary. I would love to be able to reliably get it to be like in the 4th picture (in order to get it that way I didnt wash it at all for 3 or 4 days and was out in the sun the whole time so it was super oily, matted, and dirty)

Comments

• finaleofseemfinaleofseem Posts: 900Registered Users
    If your hair can do #4 when it's oily, you may try more moisture in your hair, and cutting out drying sulfate shampoos. Mine used to be similar to yours, and only really curl when it was super dirty. Now, I use more conditioner, don't use harsh shampoos, and use a gel, and diffuse to set the curl.