My hair doesn't know whether to be curly or straight!

backwardscakebackwardscake Posts: 4Registered Users
Hi everyone! I've always worn my hair straight up until this year, so I'm really new to this.

I'm using:
Shampoo & Conditioner- Nexxus Diametress volumizing
Curl Lotion- Marc Anthony "Strictly Curls"

I usually wash my hair upside down and then work the curl lotion into it. My hair is fine, neck length, and layered. I have ringlety, corkscrew curls on the bottom, but my top layer is completely straight! (And all of it is frizzy.) I tried diffusing it before but it was just frizzy and sticky :/ I think my layers made it weird, too.
Also, the curl breaks really easily... If I go out in windy weather, it turns kind of straight/wavy :[

I just want the top of my hair to be as curly as the rest of it!
Do you have any product recs for my kind of hair? Or ideas of a good diffuser? Or general tips & tricks? I'm still researching, so I have much to learn. I don't want to buy the wrong thing, though. Thanks everyone!

Comments

• plunkybugplunkybug Posts: 2,526Registered Users
    Welcome to the wavies! Welcome to the woes of a wavy. Heh heh. :/ I know my front is curlier than my back, and one side is wavier than the other. It's frustrating, I know. Many wavies find that going CG, or a modified version of it, has helped improve the consistency or curliness. Also, protein treatments can be a curl enhancer. Have you tried plopping? Many find it helpful for encouraging curls. What styling techniques do you use?

Lady Caiside, Noble Lushetarian and Wavy Wayfarer of Mugglswick, in the Order of the Curly Crusaders

2b-3a Fii, porous and low elasticity

Currently using a variety of products, and looking for that magic combo

Hair bio: http://www.naturallycurly.com/curltalk/showpost.php?p=1252125&postcount=59

• TheFerginatorTheFerginator Posts: 5Registered Users