Darcy's Botanicals Vanilla Delight and Natural Coils Curling Jelly

pprMACHEheartpprMACHEheart Registered Users Posts: 1,665
So, I decided to try these new products because I haven't ever tried anything from the curly mart and I've been transitioning for almost 2 years now. I decided to order these two items from Darcy's Botanical and see what the result would be in my hair.

So after washing and conditioning with my regular shampoo and conditioner, I proceeded to comb through my hair using the Vanilla Delight by Darcy's Botanicals and I thought since my hair is 3b/3c it would take fine to just using a medium amount as opposed to what it says on the back of the bottle (use a small amount) and that didn't work. My hair soaked it up and made it uber difficult for me to comb through. That was fail number one.

Then crossing my fingers they said that the Natural Coils Curling Jelly -Natural Curl Defining Gel is best used with the leave in, so of course following their directions I used a small amount. Again, that did not work. My hair absorbed it with no problem and did not do a thing. So part of my hair curled and the other part didn't (which is probably my whacked out hair's fault seeing as that some of my ends are probably crazy heat damaged from the time I permed my hair).

After spreading the coiling jelly throughout my hair in a more than ample amount, I noticed that I suffered a slight allergic reaction to it. All around my forehead and ears were red. :-| Anywho, after using both products I had no choice but to do a twist out and call it a night. All you can tell about my hair now is that it smells like vanilla and a bit like citrus (what the coiling jelly smells like).

Also, the jelly leaves your hair with a bad white residue that only disappears when you add grease to it.

Overall, great smelling stuff, didn`t do a thing for me.
last relaxer; 082708, BC; 081810, CG; 122410
high porosity, med/coarse texture, high density, color treated