My Grandma Burst My Bubble

clbussieclbussie Posts: 115Registered Users
I just graduated from grad school with my Master's in College Counseling. My career goal is to advise and counsel at-risk and minority students at the college level. I graduated at the end of May and have been looking for a job at universities across the country since January. To say the least the job search has been rough. I have had three interviews with three different schools so far and as far as I was concerned, I rocked those interviews. I was being told that because of the economic situation people with more advanced degrees and more experience were taking up the entry level jobs that I'm applying for.

However, I was on the phone with my grandmother (who doesn't like my natural hair) yesterday and was told that she thinks the reason I'm not getting offers is because of my hair. She says I am being naive when I say that my hair shouldn't matter. I told her that if there is a stigma against natural hair it is more so in corporate america and not at colleges where diversity is emphaisized.

As much as I want to think my hair is not a factor in not getting offers, she has planted a cloud of doubt in my head. What do you guys think? Now I am self conscious about how to wear my hair on interviews. My hair is still relatively short and have been wearing twist outs except for the most recent interview in which I wore micro braids (which by the way I wore for graduation because otherwise my grandmother would have spent the whole day discussing how terrible she thinks my hair is instead of me getting my Master's :/)

Thoughts? Insights?
First Big Chop 5/27/09
2nd Big Chop 9/11/2009
Texture: 4a/4b
My Blog: www.naturallyfab.wordpress.com
Youtube Channel: www.youtube.com/cbussie

Comments

• hippychichippychic Posts: 4,673Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    did you read cali chick's post? very inspirational :occasion9: