dry gray hair

pchpch Posts: 23Registered Users
Hi everyone. I am new to this site. I am hoping you can give me suggestions for my curly gray hair. I have been growing it out for the last 7 months (very slowly) from a very short hair style. I have had my hair short for over 25 years and forgot how much curl I have. I am a 3b. My hair is 90% gray and very dry and frizzy. I need a good deep conditioner.

Comments

• anonymous_22139anonymous_22139 Posts: 659Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    This site is full of good ideas. Do you leave conditioner in your hair?

It's hard to know how to help without knowing your routine.

Here's mine:

Wash with VO5 conditioner (I am currently using Blackberry Sage scent)

Rinse.

Condition with Suave Coconut Conditioner

Comb through and Rinse upside down.

Squeeze into completely wet hair about a tablespoon of GVP Conditioning balm (Sally's biolage knockoff)
    mixed with a fingertip of honey and/or top off with LA Sport Gel. Plop for 20 minutes to 1/2 hour and air dry......Nice moisturized curls.
  • crwrittcrwritt Posts: 705Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    I would second the Biolage knock off Conditioning balm. Walgreen's has theirs on sale right now.
    I used it today as a deep treatment.
    I also like the Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Conditioner
    as both a rinse out and mixed with my gel as a leave in.
  • SuburbanbushbabeSuburbanbushbabe Posts: 15,402Registered Users Curl Neophyte
    My gray hair eats up more conditioners and butters than anything. I love [buylink=http://www.curlmart.com/Mop-Top-Deep-Conditioner-p-719.html?utm_source=naturallycurly.com&utm_medium=text-link&utm_content=curltalk-post-text&utm_campaign=moptop-deep-conditioner]Mop Top Deep conditioner[/buylink], it gives visible results. I like to leave conditioner in my hair and scrunch a little shea butter or castor oil on the ends before gelling. Really helps.
    My blog - http://suburbanbushbabe.wordpress.com/