CG Process

So, I think I have figured out how this all works... but I'm wondering how often I should do each type of conditioner. I've purchased a Suave Naturals Conditioner and the TIGI Moisture Maniac conditioner. I tend to work out 3 times a week and wash my hair, then, but with this new process I'm uncertain. HELP!!! I also bought the Herbal Essence Tousle Me Softly Gel. I tried this Organix stuff but it only dried me out, more. I really just need a detailed run down of how this all should work :p

Comments

• Miss LynxMiss Lynx Posts: 27Registered Users
    Well, no one else seems to have posted an answer to this one yet, so I might as well try, though I should mention I'm no expert - I've only been doing the CG thing for a few months, but it seems to be going pretty well so far.

There really isn't any one right answer as to how often to do anything - everyone's hair is different. You'll need to experiment and see what works for you.

The basic system as outlined in the Curly Girl book is that you just use one basic conditioner (making sure that it's a silicone-free one), but you use it in two different ways:
    1. A couple of times a week (or however often you feel like you need to), after first letting the hot water run through your hair for a while to rinse out daily dust and dirt and what not (i.e., stand under the water for longer than you would if you were just wetting your hair down before shampooing) take a little bit of conditioner on your finger tips and scrub your scalp with it, then rinse it out well.
    2. Every day (or as often as you shower, anyway), whether you've just done the scalp scrubbing thing, spread a little conditioner through the length of your hair and then either do a quick rinse so that a little conditioner stays in your hair, or don't rinse it out at all, depending on what seems to work best for you.