Should I BC myself or should I go to stylist

chel325chel325 Posts: 6Registered Users
Hello ya'll! I'm fairly new to this site and have been just lurking around, learning things. I'm so glad this site is here with so many natural women and men who love their natural beauty.

So I have been transitioning for almost 9 months and my new growth is coming in. At first the hair was coarse, brittle, hard and unmanageable. I learned that this is scab hair and whoa I had a whole bunch of it. That didn't discourage me, I loved my scab hair because I thought it was my texture =). But about a month or two ago I noticed that my new new growth is curly and soft! It still amazes me to this day! I have curly hair!! I cannot believe that haha. You better believe my hands are constantly in my hair and it feels so good. I think I am 4a or 4b or 3c or something, I guess I won't know till I chop it which will be in 2 weeks when I go home from university.

So yes I am sooo excited for my big chop, I have been watching videos and reading stories and viewing pictures, it is ridiculous, I am obsessed. Haha, so I want to cut my hair myself. I want to go out and buy some hair scissors and chop away but I'm not sure if that is what is best for my hair. Should I go to a stylist or do you think it is okay for me to cut it myself?

If you think I should cut it myself is there any technique or anything?

Sorry for the long post but could you all give me advice?
Thanks!

Comments

• maybejadeymaybejadey Posts: 198Registered Users
    Nothing wrong with cutting it yourself. I went to a stylist, but that's just because I transitioned from little to nothing, so I was more afraid of cutting my scalp, haha.