No Shampoo in a Shampoo World?

SbudskySbudsky Registered Users Posts: 261 Curl Neophyte
First off, I'm new to this thread, so hi everyone! I have a couple questions I'm hoping you all can help me out with...

Anyway, here goes-- I've been nearly 100% CG for about a month and am totally sold on the idea that traditional shampoo dries out your hair and that we don't need strong chemicals to get our hair clean. My hair, overall, has been healthier and curlier and, for the first time ever, maintains it's shape throughout the day. At the same time, I have some concerns about not using regular shampoo because virtually everyone else does, and I imagine most (if not all) modern hair products (gels, mousses, etc.), even those that are technically CG, are developed with the understanding that users are washing them out with sulfates. I've been experiencing some build-up on my hair in the past few weeks and I'm concerned that this could become an ongoing issue if I'm only co-washing. Have others experienced this? How have you dealt with it?

I bought some sulfate and silicone free shampoo (Giovanni brand) and think I'm going to start using that once a week or so to clarify my hair. I was initially feeling a little guilty about breaking down and buying a shampoo, but now that I think about it, I'm not sure why it's such a no-no. Is there any downside to using a sulfate-free shampoo once in a while as opposed to co-wash?
waves, loose coils, and cherub curls (=mixed 2s through 3a), very fine texture overall (but with medium and even coarse strands scattered throughout)

Comments

• willowmina moonwillowmina moon Registered Users Posts: 109
    I've had the same problem. My scalp starts to feel gunky/sticky after about 3 wks of no shampoo. So I use a sulfate free shampoo about every 3-4 weeks. I use a very small amount diluted with water and work it into my scalp. Even if you don't get much suds it seems to clean well.
    Willow Moon
    3a, thin, fine, porous