After the Big Chop

bknataliebknatalie Posts: 1Registered Users
hey fellow curlies!

I just did the Big Chop in January of 2010 and while I'm so proud of myself, a little bit of anxiety is starting to set in. My chop was really really low -- I had only grown about 2 months without relaxing it-- and while I am seeing a little bit of growth, I really want to make sure that I am doing the right things to grow my hair longer and stronger.

My questions are:
1. Should I get braids to protect my hair?

and

2. It looks like I'm a mix between 4a and 4b and I'm a little at loss about how to moisturize. Should I wet my hair everyday? Only when I when I shampoo (weekly)? Oils or butters?

Bear with me, I'm new at this! Any help you can lend my way would be much appreciated.

peace & gratitude,
bknatalie

Comments

• maybejadeymaybejadey Posts: 198Registered Users
    Hey there, I BC'ed really really low as well (I "transitioned" for about 2 mos as well) and for the first year and a half pretty much did nothing but cowash daily and leave a little conditioner in. My hair grew like a weed. Personally, when I started protective styling, the increased manipulation started to break off and retard my growth. I saw my first splits after using the Denman brush. So the decision whether to start braiding or twisting should depend on how well your hair takes manipulation. If you're rocking a twa or puff and you aren't having lots of tangles, that may be enough for you (at least for now).